Fijian Dollar

Name of currency: Fijian Dollar

Country / countries used: Fiji

Symbol: $

Brief history:

Fiji is a collection of 800-plus volcanic and coral islands that enjoy a tropical climate and are host to a thriving tourism industry. The dollar has been the currency of Fiji since 1969 however; it was also the currency between 1867 and 1873. It is commonly seen as $ or FJ$ to distinguish it from other dollar-denominated countries. Back in 1969, the Fijian Dollar replaced the Fijian Pound. Back then, the best exchange rates were 1 pound = 2 dollars. Coins were introduced in denominations of ¢, 2¢, 5¢, 10¢ & 20¢, with a 50¢ coin issued in 1975. The government also introduced notes in values of 50 cents, $1, $2, $10 and $20. In 1970, the $5 banknote was issued.

In 1974, The Central Monetary Authority took over responsibility for banknotes; they issued the same denominations although the 50¢ note was replaced by a coin in 1975. The Reserve Bank of Fiji took over from The Central Monetary Authority in 1986. They chose to replace the $1 note with a coin in 1995. In 1996, the $50 note was introduced, followed by a $100 note in 2007. Previously, the banknotes have been printed with the face of Queen Elizabeth II however from January 2013, the portrait will be replaced with Fijian flora and fauna. This is due to the new political climate.